TTT – Books I Read In One Sitting

TTT

Top Ten Tuesday is featured by That Artsy Reader Girl It was born of a love of lists, a love of books, and a desire to bring bookish friends together.

Theme = Books I Read In One Sitting (or would have if I had the time)

If only I had the time to list all of these that sprang to mind, it would’ve been a very long list!

From Blood and Ash by Jennifer L Armentrout


The House in the Cerulean Sea by TJ Klune


For the Wolf by Hannah Whitten


Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare

Angelfall by Susan Ee

Moti on the Water by Leylah Attar


With Everything I Am by Kristen Ashley


Bound by Honour by Cora Reilly


War by Laura Thalassa


I Dare You by Shantal Tessier

🎧 Review: Jade City by Fonda Lee

Review1

Title: Jade City

Series: The Green Bone Saga #1

Author: Fonda Lee

JADE CITY is a gripping Godfather-esque saga of intergenerational blood feuds, vicious politics, magic, and kungfu.

The Kaul family is one of two crime syndicates that control the island of Kekon. It’s the only place in the world that produces rare magical jade, which grants those with the right training and heritage superhuman abilities.
The Green Bone clans of honorable jade-wearing warriors once protected the island from foreign invasion–but nowadays, in a bustling post-war metropolis full of fast cars and foreign money, Green Bone families like the Kauls are primarily involved in commerce, construction, and the everyday upkeep of the districts under their protection.
When the simmering tension between the Kauls and their greatest rivals erupts into open violence in the streets, the outcome of this clan war will determine the fate of all Green Bones and the future of Kekon itself.

An audio listen because I had fomo!

Read the blurb to get the general jist of the storyline but basically we follow the Kaul family that uses jade as a source of power.

It was a story about honour, loyalty, corruption and family which certainly does not shy away from the violence and vileness of the their world.

There was so much character development I felt like I actually knew them! Shea was definitely my fave along with Wen who I hope plays a bigger part in the next book.

I also loved the world that the author gave us which again made me feel like I was there, especially loved the old tales.

This book was quite slow and detailed to begin with and then the action really heats up! In reality it’s something I would never have probably listened to but I am so glad I did!

Tag: Last 10 Books!

I wanted to do a tag so perused WordPress for something I’d like and found this on Literary Elephant

Lets dive in!

Last Book I Bought


Untethered by Kaylynn Flanders


Last Book I Reread


I haven’t reread a book in ages but I this was the last book I reread


Last Book I Gave Up On


Ninth House by Leigh Bardugo
Just wasn’t for me.


Last Book I Said I Read But Didn’t
Not really sure I have done this. I dnf books but I don’t sat I have read if I haven’t!


Last Book I Wrote in the Margins Of
I cant remember ever doing this! Isn’t that sacrilege?!



Last Book I Had Signed


Witches Steeped in Gold by Ciannon Smart


Last Book I Lost
I only recently discovered I couldn’t find my special signed edition of A River of Royal Blood by Amanda Joy and I have no idea where it is.



Last Book I Had to Replace
Nevermoor: The Trials of Morrigan Crow by Jessica Townsend as I tipped coffee on it!


Last Book I Argued Over
I don’t think I’ve argued over a book!


Last Book You Couldn’t Find
I have my Harry Potter books scattered everywhere, originals and House Editions and I always have trouble remembering where I put them…so these are the books I always can’t find!

Mini Review: The Bane Chronicles by Cassandra Clare

Review1

Title: The Bane Chronicles

Author: Cassandra Clare

Fans of The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices can get to know warlock Magnus Bane like never before in this collection of New York Times bestselling tales, in print for the first time with an exclusive new story and illustrated material.

This collection of eleven short stories illuminates the life of the enigmatic Magnus Bane, whose alluring personality, flamboyant style, and sharp wit populate the pages of the #1 New York Times bestselling series, The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices.

A collection of stories of my fave character, Magnus Bane! Sign me up!

Firstly, the illustrations! I wasn’t expecting those! They were fab!

From Peru, to Edmund Herondale to Will Herondale to James Herondale to baby Clary and then to Alec!

As a Will Herondale fan I absolutely loved reading about his Dad and how he met his Mum and then his son!

It was so lovely seeing old names I recognise and the tid bits of their lives!

A nice little collection!

My June 2020 Haul – did I actually read?!

Bookplan

I did a post the other day about the books I’d hauled in May 2020 and if I’d read. That post really spurred me on as I’d read 3 out of the 4 books so thought I’d now look at my haul from June 2020 to see if I’ve read!

Dream Maker by Kristen Ashley READ



Ice Wolves by Amie Kaufman – READ

(Sorry no pic as WordPress hates me!)

Jokes on You by Lani Lynn ValeREAD


Incendiary by Zoraidya CordovaDNF

I’m so happy! Effectively I have picked up all of these and read! I’m so happy!!!

Do you do these types of posts?

Update: Off the Grid Readathon

Let me just say first that I wasn’t totally strict with myself, I did go on social media but I didn’t spend half as much time as I normally do doom scrolling and grabbed a book instead!

I first thought I’d read some books off my tbr for this readathon but then I decided to use this weekend to read those ‘in-between’ stories of series!

The Bane Chronicles by Cassandra Clare
Stars Above by Marissa Meyer
Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy by Cassandra Clare

Oh how I loved getting back to these characters!

My reviews are coming soon but all in all this has been a positive reading weekend and made me fall in love with reading all over again!

Never Have I Ever Book Tag

Here I am with another tag! I’m really enjoying doing these at the mo so hope it’s not too boring for you all!

Never Have I Ever Book Tag 

I saw this on Reading in the Wings and it was created by Madam Writer

Rules

1. Link back to the original creator! (Madame Writer)

2. Link back to the person who tagged you!

3. Answer all prompts.

4. Add one more prompt of your own.

5. Tag at least five people.

6. Don’t lie.

7. Have fun!

NEVER HAVE I EVER… READ A LATER BOOK IN A SERIES BEFORE READING THE FIRST BOOK.

In 2012 I was a big indie romance reader and I remember a couple of times when I did this….but can’t remember what series it was!

NEVER HAVE I EVER… BURNED A BOOK.

OMG NO! Why would you do that?

NEVER HAVE I EVER… READ A BOOK I KNEW I WOULD HATE.

I don’t think so. I probably wouldn’t buy a book I knew I wouldn’t like……but I don’t think there would be many that I knew I wouldn’t like until I read it….does that make sense?!

NEVER HAVE I EVER… WROTE A FANFICTION ABOUT MY FAVORITE BOOKS.

I’ve never written fan-fic, or read any! Maybe I need to broaden my horizons!

NEVER HAVE I EVER… LOVED A BOOK WHEN I WAS YOUNG AND HATED IT WHEN I GOT OLDER.

I can’t really say hated, but 50 Shades didn’t have that same appeal for me that it did when it came out when I did a reread. Probably the same with Twilight but I haven’t reread that in years!

NEVER HAVE I EVER…DRESSED UP AS ONE OF MY FAVORITE LITERARY CHARACTERS.

Nope I haven’t done this. I’m not really that sort of person (I’m boring!) but love looking at pics of people that do!

NEVER HAVE I EVER… HATED A BOOK BY AN AUTHOR I LOVE.

I have! One of my fave romance authors released a book about BDSM and even though I hate that trope, I thought I’d give it a go…..but I hated it!!

NEVER HAVE I EVER… GONE INTO A BOOKSTORE TO BUY ONE BOOK AND COME OUT WITH MANY MORE.

Hahaaaaahaaaaaa! Yes. Many, many times!!

NEVER HAVE I EVER… READ THE END OF A BOOK BEFORE READING THE BEGINNING.

I don’t think so…..why would you do this, it would spoil it!

NEVER HAVE I EVER… READ A BOOK WITHOUT THE DUST COVER.

I do this all the time to protect the sleeves as I had an unfortunate ripping accident once. I still can’t talk about it now!

NEVER HAVE I EVER… SKIM-READ NEARLY HALF THE BOOK.

I am so GUILTY. I hate to DNF a book and sometimes I do the quick skim to see what happens!

NEVER HAVE I EVER… PRETENDED TO HAVE READ A BOOK I HAVEN’T READ.

I don’t think so. My memory is rubbish so sometimes I may think I have and maybe haven’t though!

NEVER HAVE I EVER… HAD A BOOK BOYFRIEND.

Oh jeez, I’ve had LOADS!!!!!

NEVER HAVE I EVER… PICKED UP A BOOK BASED ON THE COVER ALONE.

I’m a cover lover, so I am guilty of this! Threadneedle is my latest proof of this!

NEVER HAVE I EVER… BOUGHT MULTIPLE BOOKS IN A SERIES WITHOUT HAVING STARTED IT.

Always. Much to my tbr’s disgust!

NEVER HAVE I EVER… READ A BOOK SO QUICKLY THAT I DON’T REMEMBER WHAT HAPPENED BY THE END.

Paahahaa I don’t think so! My ordered brain probably wouldn’t let this happen!

NEVER HAVE I EVER… RECOMMENDED A BOOK WITHOUT READING IT FIRST.

This is a no. I maybe would say I’d heard x book was good but I’d say I hadn’t read yet.

My Question:

NEVER HAVE I EVER….NOT BOUGHT A BOOK BECAUSE IT WAS TOO BIG.

My answer – big books intimidate me so I have to really want to read it if it’s huge!

I know the rules say to tag 5 people but I’m not! Please join in if you like this!

TTT – Book Titles That are Questions (or not……!)

TTT

Top Ten Tuesday is featured by That Artsy Reader Girl  It was born of a love of lists, a love of books, and a desire to bring bookish friends together.

Theme – Book Titles That are Questions

I went through the 1387 books that I’ve ever read and I haven’t read 1 with a question in the title! It took flipping ages to go through!!!

So instead of a weak entry I’ve swapped it round to books with 1 word in the title! And I’ve gone for a mix of romance, sci-fi and ya fantasy!

Rhapsodic by Laura Thalassa

Supernova by Marissa Meyer

Illuminae by Jay Kristoff

Deviate by Jay Kristoff

Shielded by Kaylynn Flanders

Skyhunter by Marie Lu

Skyward by Brandon Sanderson

Fake by Kylie Scott

Raw by Belle Aurora

Assumption Aurora Rose Reynolds

Books I NEED releasing in August

My tbr pile is getting way beyond a joke so I really need to do something about it….but have no idea what! Bans don’t seem to work on me (hello, no will power here!) and I’m not reading as many books as I used to so I thought I’d cut down on books I actually want to get.

My new plan is to maybe just pick 2 and any others go on my wishlist….but we shall see!

So these are the 2 that I want to get releasing in August…..

Cazadora by Romina Garber

Redemptor by Jordan Ifueko

What about you – what books do you want that are releasing in August (but please don’t make me want more!!!)